…Writing…

A chance to finish me next novel before the Ice Hotel melts again!

A chance to finish my next novel before the Ice Hotel melts again!

I am returning to the “rat race” although I feel it is more like a leisurely jog with hamsters. Suddenly, daytime (office) hours will be filled with – well, data wrangling, discussions on what to do next and how long it will take, tea and chocolate – those sorts of things.

Given that writing can be about a good deal of procrastination, this is the perfect scenario!

So, I have decided that I will set aside at least one evening a week to concentrate on writing. When I have been away in Reading in the past, I have normally gone to the cinema one night a week (Wednesday) because, obviously, it is artistic research and not because I enjoy films, be they thought-provoking pieces or the kind of film that requires you to check your brain at the door. No, no, pure research. And the fact there is a Ben and Jerry’s concession stand.

Thursday is usually the night reserved for drinking copious amounts of fermented vegetable-based liquids, and Monday nights are most often reserved for cooking a pot of something to eat for dinner over the week (although it looks like that may be a lot of courgette soup that the Snail has made to begin with, thus requiring warming up, a culinary operation I am quite adept at).

So, how about Tuesday? OK, I’ll try Tuesday.

Only time will tell whether I actually stick to this or whether the data wrangling during the day turns my creative side to mush. Actually, I find an office environment can be quite creatively stimulating in an odd way.

So, a new approach for me to writing – I can’t wait for Tuesday!

oOo

 

Categories: Uncategorized | 3 Comments

Post navigation

3 thoughts on “…Writing…

  1. Monday, Wednesday and Thursday sound pretty good. Can you improve on them for Friday, Saturday and Sundays still ,leaving Tuesdays sacrosanct of course?
    Hugs to you and the Snail.

    Like

    • For the duration of my contract, Fridays and Saturdays will be snailtime (can’t improve on that!) and Sunday will be probably sat in a queue on the M4 time. However, my plan is to talk to myself in the car and record the relevant ramblings on an MP3 player to help with Tuesdays.

      Hugs to you too – the dentist didn’t have all of them!

      Like

  2. Pingback: Writing Tuesday | writinghouse

Put pen to paper (well, fingers to keyboard)...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

