The Bum of the Flightle Bee

Spot the Bee

Spot the Bee

On Saturday last, PalletGate needed some of the regular TLC that characterises it’s very nature*, so what better time to ignore it and take photographs of a bee instead?

This is what happens when you leave your brassicas to flower (and who wouldn’t?) – not quite a riot of yellow flowers, but certainly a disturbance of the peace**.

Coming into land

Coming into land

Mmm...pollen...

Mmm…pollen…

Rubbish at hide-and-seek

Rubbish at hide-and-seek

Actually, I filmed this lovely anthophilioid and took some screen shots, not realising quite how colourful it was. It moved me to a form of poetry – that form being “Not Very Good” poetry:

Rudolph has his red nose,

a gardener, their green thumb.

Texas has a yellow rose,

this bee, an orange bum…

As PalletGate remained unattended to, I pondered who it was that said procrastination was a waste of time. Then I realised – the Oxford English Dictionary, that’s who.

oOo

* I.e. having been built by an amateur DIYer for whom the proverb “When the only tool you have is a hammer, every problem is a nail” was clearly written for.

** If only there had been legumes in the shot, then it would have been a disturbance of the peas.

Categories: gardening, General silliness, Sustainable Stuff | Tags: , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “The Bum of the Flightle Bee

  1. Pingback: Bees, boobs and breakfast | The Snail of Happiness

  2. Cheers Mr Snail. The other day I was talking to Stevie-boy about how I was going to totally ROCK a recipe for vegan chickpea brownies (I did, indeed “rock” said recipe but it turned into a brown date cake in the process of dissemination whatchagonnadoeh?) and stated that “I only have one chick of tinpeas left in the cupboard”. After a brief period of unsolicited and most uproarious laughter (I think I am hilarious) I suddenly discovered that my brain is very good at association. It would seem that while my superior frontal gynus was being stimulated by my uproarious laughter, my cerebrum was putting my HILARIOUS spoonerism together with last centuries (undoubtedly) most famous and profitable band from Sweden and giving me the ear worm to end all ear worms. I had “Chiquitita” (“Chick-a-tinpeas tell me what’s wrong”…AARRGGHHH!) stuck in my head for days. I only just managed to get rid of it and you inadvertently just put it back there…sigh… Oh well, “Misery loves company” etc. so here’s a hit of my ear worm should you choose to indulge

    (schadenfreude Mr Snail…schadenfreude)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always thought the song was “Chicken Tikka” – a theme they later followed with “Winner takes the dahl”. And now I’m hungry for Indian food…:)

      Liked by 1 person

      • Indian food is good. Earl worms are not.

        Like

        • Earl or Ear, those worms aren’t good (I hope Earl is worm-free). Indian food is great, so little surprise that Abba also sung “Gimme Gimme Gimme a Naan after Midnight”. The band was obsessed.

          Like

          • HAHAHA! That’s 3am for ya, Those Swedes eh? No-one wants to eat Swedes, but I bet the Indians have a great recipe for turning them into something delectable 😉

            Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m sorry, I disagree. That’s a Very Good Poem…

    Liked by 1 person

Put pen to paper (well, fingers to keyboard)...

Blog at WordPress.com.

