Palletable DIY 2: We have the technology, we can rebuild it…

Almost looks like I know what I'm doing

Almost looks like I know what I’m doing

The story so far: We bought a garden table over ten years ago – it wasn’t cheap. After it had been left in a pool of Welsh rainwater for a year, some of the top had the audacity to rot. Ten years is no age for a table to be scrapped (I bought the table I use as a workbench in 1985, when it was already about thirty years old and I wasn’t, and I’m only now thinking I may have had my fifteen quid’s worth) so I decided that it should be rescued. Hence the Workmate thingy and a saw. I had already cut away the rotten wood and upset a lot of woodlice.

Sawing round corners

Sawing round corners

As you will know from the first Palletable DIY post, I had already dismantled a pallet to provide the raw material for the repair. I was keen to avoid using power tools because they use energy and I am a wuss and scared of them, so I used a hand saw to cut the first piece and produce a curved edge to fit the round bit in the middle of the table. Well, the term “curved edge” is being optimistic. “Wobbly, jagged edge” would be a better description!

I had to resort to a manly power tool... grr! Oh, sorry, didn't mean to scare you...

I had to resort to a manly power tool… grr! Oh, sorry, didn’t mean to scare you…

I resorted to a power tool – well, the solar panels would replace the energy I used from the grid – and cut a less jagged but still a bit wobbly curve on the right-hand piece. I had already decided that recreating a fully round table was a) well beyond my DIY skills (in fact, so far beyond that it was in another county) and b) not very permaculturey/Taoist (the wood I was using was already a pleasing rectangular shape). Anyway, the last dude to have a round table ended up being stabbed in both lungs by his mate and then having to sleep through a rock concert once a year (possibly).

The jigsaw has made a jigsaw - the pieces for a DIY semi-circular table

The jigsaw has made a jigsaw – the pieces for a DIY semi-circular table (the sander has photo-bombed the picture)

With all the pieces cut, I screwed them in place, using another power tool (ooh, aren’t I all macho? Well, no…) in the shape of my drill pretending to be a screwdriver.

Putting the pieces together

Putting the pieces together

The Dark Underbelly of... er, the table

The Dark Underbelly of… er, the table

Testing the new table out

Testing the new table out

Now to sand the whole thing down, ready for painting… I’ll put a picture up when that is done. And I’ve cleaned the paint off the patio, my hands, the dogs, the sheep in the field…

Oh look, someone has left a bottle of champers on the table... waste not, want not...

Oh look, someone has left a bottle of champers on the table… waste not, want not…

oOo

Categories: recycling, Sustainable Stuff | Tags: , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Palletable DIY 2: We have the technology, we can rebuild it…

  1. I must admit to a degree of schadenfreude coming into this post at this point Mr Snail but I must also admit to growing admiration at how that table turned out. It looks excellent, it no longer drops bits off the edge when it is butted up to the fence and it actually gives you more space for less waste. Excellent save on all fronts. I bow to your ingenuity (and will save my schadenfreude for the next building event of which I am sure there is “one” on the horizon (at least) )

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I wasn’t quite sure of the shape at first, but I have to admit it certainly looks a better one – and far more practical – than when in the round!
    Well done you – and not a drop of blood spilled in the making 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: PalletCart 4 – Paint My Wagon | writinghouse

Put pen to paper (well, fingers to keyboard)...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

