Droning on a bit

PICT0002

UP…

A year or so ago, I posted a couple of aerial photos taken with the aid of a very long selfie-stick little flying drone thing that I had from the Snail as a birthday present. My intention was to take aerial shots of the garden (ours, no one else’s, honest) throughout the year.

Unfortunately, ghastly weather and being away from home working have meant that I have not really had the chance. BUT… yesterday was lovely weather, sunny with a chance of sun, so I headed out once more into the garden armed with the tiny drone – a dronette if you will.

PICT0000

…UP…

I had already had to wedge a bit of plastic (from the end of the tuning pointer leftover from the wind-up radio repair) into the a gap to keep one of the motors making contact with the electicity, something quite important apparently, so I was being extra careful. The first launch saw the drone attach itself to the bird feeder, with a white rotor blade spinning off and landing at my feet.

The second lift-off was much better. With no breeze, the drone flew upwards…

I managed two pictures before disaster struck. That may be a record of some kind. The drone, like my career as a pilot, hit the gutter and plummeted to the ground.

The drone sustained a broken arm. It may be its leg, I don’t know. I have already replaced the arm/leg on the other side so this doesn’t bode well for robustness, but does give me the chance to redesign it a bit. Or use some glue. I’ll let you know what I decide.

RIMG2596

…and back to Earth with a bump.

oOo

 

Categories: camera, gardening, General silliness | Tags: , , | 12 Comments

Post navigation

12 thoughts on “Droning on a bit

  1. Use Sugru… much easier than ‘normal’ glue… plenty in the fridge… all colours!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Maya Panika

    We have a couple now and find them really hard to drive; the slightest breeze will have them.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think to fly them in anything other than a whisper of air requires them to be the ‘proper’ ones – mine is really a toy, albeit a nice one! I was looking at one today, a snip at 2 and a half grand – I would need a lot of practice with that one! πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. A lovely idea! Good luck with the repairs.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I thought it would be good to have a different perspective on things – a bird’s eye view, as it were. Shame flying like a bird is a lot harder than our feathered visitors would have us believe! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  4. pat2727

    😦 Hmmm… I suppose any kind of reinforcement to the legs would make it too heavy. Some practice over the open field? You’ll get there!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ha ha I love this – it looks such fun! I wouldn’t mind having a go at flying one but not sure I’d spend exuberant amounts on one just for the pleasure.

    I hope Doctor Snail in charge of the arms/legs operation makes a good job. πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • If it’s exercise you’re after, one of these is perfect. I reckon I’ve walked about a zillion miles around the garden retrieving it from the hedge, the roof, the chickens etc.

      A dab of glue and a lot of swearing and it’ll be back to crashing into everything that can be crashed into in no time! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 2 people

  6. Houston we have lift o…h darn. Perhaps wooden lolly sticks taped to the arms would strengthen hem without being too heavy? I’m sure you’ll get here Jon without the 2 and a half grand price tag.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

Put pen to paper (well, fingers to keyboard)...

Blog at WordPress.com.

