A Scanner, not very Darkly

RIMG3265

Spot the difference. Actually, don’t bother…

Once upon a time, at a Denmark Farm far, far away from Denmark, there was a printer. A Samsung CLX-6260ND printer to be precise. It would spend its days merrily printing out stuff and scanning stuff until it started merrily printing stuff but positively refusing to scan anything. For some computers, it didn’t even print grumpily let alone merrily.

After a brief communication with the Samsung not-very-much-Helpline, it turned out that the “Scanner Locked” message really meant “Buy a new printer because the cost of replacing the scanner unit is more than the cost of a new printer”.

Regular readers of this blog will know that the Author cannot abide such profligate waste. However, because scanning is really handy to be able to do, a new identical printer was bought so that all the spare toner cartridges wouldn’t go to waste.

About two weeks after the new printer arrived, there was a lightning storm. A bolt of lightning actually hit the office at Denmark Farm and destroyed:

  1. A new wireless router
  2. A Barclaycard credit card machine
  3. Er, the new printer

So, a new,new printer was acquired, the same as the last one (for the same toner-related reason). This meant one thing – I could be Dr. Frankenstein and create one whole working printer/scanner from the wreckage. It was as if I had arranged the lightning (which IΒ  didn’t). I assumed the scanner unit had survived the lightning because… well, it’s only a motor and a light bulb essentially. Here goes:

RIMG3266

Remove the sides

RIMG3267

An almost naked printer

I had downloaded a service manual from somewhere and it was incredibly useful as it meant I only removed things I needed to (oh, and some skin from my thumb which was unnecessary to the whole procedure but hey! It wouldn’t be DIY without a little blood, now would it?). Just to be really 21st century and flash, I used my otherwise fairly useless tablet to display the manual, saving the need for printing, which seemed quite appropriate under the circumstances.

RIMG3269

One hopefully unscathed scanner unit

RIMG3271

Various cables to be released from their captivity

I had set aside a whole day to do this but, remarkably, it took just 3 hours and very little swearing. There was only one screw left but I won’t tell anyone if you don’t. It helped that I could essentially ‘practice’ the de(con)struction and reconstruction on one printer. Surprisingly, after not very long I was fitting the scanner unit onto the old otherwise working printer until I ended up with this:

RIMG3273

The Gestalt Entity that is the old/new printer/scanner

All done! So – what to do with the bits from the old, I mean new, well, newer printer? Not sure as some of them (probably random bits of the electronics) will be fried. Perhaps I’ll create an art installation. Turner prize anyone?

oOo

Categories: computers, recycling, repair, Sustainable Stuff | Tags: , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “A Scanner, not very Darkly

  1. Are those bits in our house now? I bet they are… along with all the other things that “might come in useful”

    Like

  2. pat2727

    Brilliant! And now you have all those spare parts. They can’t all be fried. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Well Done ! We’re just too good at shrugging ad throwing things away nowadays. Not just money saved but a scanner as well.
    Hugs

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s too easy when the manufacturers basically say “when it breaks, no matter how, just buy a new one”. With printers, some are cheaper to buy new pre-fitted with ink cartridges than buying just a new set of cartridges – just absurd.
      Hugs to you too – I enjoyed your Musical Interlude 2, good choice of songs!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I love the way you get stuck into fixing things, whether you knew how to do it previously, or not, and then save a landfill an extra bit of electronics πŸ™‚
    I bet you’ll find a use for the spare bits, somehow πŸ™‚
    I have to admit to buying a new printer/scanner a while back, when my old one went on strike, but I was fortunate to find someone willing to take on the old one, so felt much less guilty for buying a new one – Chez Snail is definitely affecting me into trying my best to re-use, or re-source whatever I don’t need now – and I also have cupboards that I can actually see at a glance what I own, now πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Put pen to paper (well, fingers to keyboard)...

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

